See what you qualify for

RCLF Alabama Down Payment Assistance Program

Renaissance Community Loan Fund (RCLF) · Alabama

Last verified
Assistance

$8,000–$20,000

The maximum the program publishes — not an offer

Income limit

80% AMI

Of area median income; varies by county and household size

Repayment

Forgivable

Forgiven once the program's conditions are met

What is RCLF Alabama Down Payment Assistance Program?

RCLF Alabama Down Payment Assistance Program is a forgivable loan for homebuyers in Alabama, administered by Renaissance Community Loan Fund (RCLF).

  • Renaissance Community Loan Fund (RCLF) is a CDFI and NeighborWorks America affiliate serving Mississippi and Alabama that launched a new Alabama Down Payment Assistance (DPA) Program. RCLF offers three DPA products: Easy8 ($8,000), Trusty10 ($10,000), and HELP (up to $20,000 via Federal Home Loan Bank Dallas, limited funds). All products must be paired with an RCLF first mortgage. Eligibility generally requires first-time homebuyer status (veterans and Target Area buyers are exempt), primary residence in Alabama, household income within county HUD guidelines (80% AMI confirmed for HELP product), minimum $500 borrower contribution, homebuyer education, and 1 month of reserves. Homebuyers sign a 5-year retention agreement. RCLF was welcomed into the NeighborWorks network and received over $4 million in funding to assist Mississippi and Alabama residents.
  • Up to $20,000 in DPA (HELP product).
  • $8,000 Easy8 or $10,000 Trusty10 DPA options.
  • Veterans exempt from first-time homebuyer rule.
  • Target Area exemption available.
  • NeighborWorks/CDFI backed lender.
  • Funding comes from RCLF (CDFI/NeighborWorks affiliate) — multiple funding sources including Federal Home Loan Bank Dallas (HELP product).

How much assistance does it provide?

RCLF Alabama Down Payment Assistance Program offers between $8,000 and $20,000 in assistance.

  • Award tier “Easy8” — up to $8,000. Who qualifies: $8,000 DPA toward down payment and closing costs; must be paired with RCLF first mortgage.
  • Award tier “Trusty10” — up to $10,000. Who qualifies: $10,000 DPA toward down payment and closing costs; must be paired with RCLF first mortgage.
  • Award tier “HELP”. Who qualifies: Federal Home Loan Bank Dallas HELP program; up to $20,000; limited funding, first-come first-served; low-income first-time homebuyers.
  • Buyer contribution: Homebuyer must contribute at least $500 of own funds toward down payment or closing costs.
  • Amounts are the program's published maximums, not an offer — Renaissance Community Loan Fund (RCLF) determines any individual award.

Do you have to pay it back?

RCLF Alabama Down Payment Assistance Program is a forgivable loan, so the balance is forgiven once the program's conditions are met.

  • Repayment is triggered by Homebuyer must sign 5-year retention agreement; repayment terms depend on specific product (Easy8, Trusty10, or HELP).
  • Forgiveness and repayment terms are set by the program and can change — confirm them on the official program page before applying.

Who qualifies?

RCLF Alabama Down Payment Assistance Program is open to first-time homebuyers and buyers who will live in the home as their primary residence.

The program requires

  • First-time homebuyer — with exceptions: Target Area exemption applies; veterans exempt from first-time homebuyer requirement
  • The home is occupied as a primary residence
  • On credit: Not confirmed on primary source; standard RCLF mortgage underwriting applies
  • A completed homebuyer education course, through HUD-approved homebuyer education course (provider not specified)
  • Residency: Property must be primary residence in Alabama
  • Citizenship or immigration status: Not specified on primary source
  • DRAFT (dpa-gap-finder 2026-06-15): pending review. DPA MUST be paired with an RCLF first mortgage — RCLF cannot offer DPA with another lender's loan. Minimum $500 borrower contribution required. Cannot currently own a home. HELP product has limited funding (first-come, first-served) via FHLB Dallas. Easy8/Trusty10 income limit AMI percentage not confirmed on primary source as of June 2026 — call RCLF at (228) 896-3386 for current limits. 5-year retention agreement required. Program launched February 2026.

The program excludes

  • Households above 80% of area median income

These are the program's own published rules, not a decision about any individual — the administering agency and a lender determine who actually qualifies.

What are the income limits?

RCLF Alabama Down Payment Assistance Program limits household income to 80% of the area median income, which varies by county and household size.

  • Household income must not exceed 80% of the Area Median Income (AMI) for the county of purchase (HELP product); Easy8 and Trusty10 income limits reference county-specific HUD guidelines — specific AMI % for Easy8/Trusty10 not confirmed on primary source as of June 2026.
  • The limit applies to total household income, not only the borrower’s.
  • Area median income figures are published by HUD and updated annually, so check the current table for the county before relying on a number.

What kind of home can it be used for?

RCLF Alabama Down Payment Assistance Program can be used for single_family.

Is there eligibility for specific groups?

RCLF Alabama Down Payment Assistance Program names veterans among the groups it serves.

  • Being named here means the program mentions the group, not that membership alone qualifies an applicant — the rest of the eligibility rules still apply.

Where does it apply?

RCLF Alabama Down Payment Assistance Program serves buyers purchasing anywhere in Alabama.

  • The program targets specific areas: HUD-designated Target Areas within Alabama may exempt buyers from the first-time homebuyer requirement.

How do you apply?

Applications for RCLF Alabama Down Payment Assistance Program go through Renaissance Community Loan Fund (RCLF), which publishes the current terms and the application steps on its own site.

  1. Take a homebuyer education course

    Required by the program, through HUD-approved homebuyer education course (provider not specified).

  2. Contact Renaissance Community Loan Fund (RCLF) to reserve funds

    Funds are reserved through first-come, first-served (HELP product); ongoing for Easy8/Trusty10, and are subject to availability.

  3. Work with a lender who handles the program

    Hey Prescott is not a lender and does not accept applications; this page describes the program so a buyer can take it to a lender or housing counselor.

90-second match

Not sure which you qualify for?

Answer 9 questions and we'll match you to every program you can actually use — in about 90 seconds. No SSN, no credit pull.

Find my programs