See what you qualify for

Clermont County CHIP Down Payment Assistance (DPA)

Clermont County Department of Community & Economic Development · Clermont County, Ohio

Last verified
Assistance

$7,000

The maximum the program publishes — not an offer

Income limit

80% AMI

Of area median income; varies by county and household size

Price cap

$132,000

Highest purchase price the program allows

Repayment

Deferred

No payments until the home is sold or refinanced

What is Clermont County CHIP Down Payment Assistance (DPA)?

Clermont County CHIP Down Payment Assistance (DPA) is a deferred second loan for homebuyers in Clermont County, Ohio, administered by Clermont County Department of Community & Economic Development.

  • Clermont County, a CDBG/HOME entitlement community, offers Down Payment Assistance (DPA) through its Community Housing Improvement Program (CHIP) to qualified low-to-moderate-income buyers purchasing single-family homes in the county. DPA is a deferred loan of up to $7,000 or 10% of the purchase price, whichever is less, and may be combined with CHIP rehabilitation assistance as a separate activity. Buyers must complete homebuyer education, contribute at least $500, and keep housing costs at or below 30% of gross monthly income.
  • Up to $7,000 or 10% of purchase price (whichever is less).
  • 0% interest deferred loan.
  • Can be combined with rehab assistance.
  • Covers down payment/closing costs.
  • This is a federal program, so it is available beyond a single state or city.
  • Funding comes from Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) and HOME Investment Partnerships Program, via Ohio Department of Development / HUD.

How much assistance does it provide?

Clermont County CHIP Down Payment Assistance (DPA) offers up to $7,000 in assistance.

  • The program asks buyers to contribute $500.
  • The program can be combined with CHIP Rehabilitation Deferred Loan.
  • Amounts are the program's published maximums, not an offer — Clermont County Department of Community & Economic Development determines any individual award.

Do you have to pay it back?

Clermont County CHIP Down Payment Assistance (DPA) is deferred, so no payments are due until the home is sold, refinanced, or the first mortgage is paid off.

  • Repayment is triggered by Deferred loan secured by a mortgage lien; repayment terms governed by HOME affordability period and program guidelines (due on sale/transfer/non-owner-occupancy).
  • The assistance is recorded in second position.
  • Forgiveness and repayment terms are set by the program and can change — confirm them on the official program page before applying.

Who qualifies?

Clermont County CHIP Down Payment Assistance (DPA) is open to buyers who will live in the home as their primary residence.

The program requires

  • The home is occupied as a primary residence
  • On credit: Must meet the minimum credit requirements of loan underwriting
  • A completed homebuyer education course, through Homebuyer education class required prior to purchase (provider not specified)
  • Residency: Applicant must reside within Clermont County; home purchased must be a single-family dwelling in Clermont County
  • DRAFT NOTE: detailed terms (amount, $132,000 max value, $500 min contribution, 30% housing-cost ratio, 80% AMI, homebuyer-education, deferred-loan structure) confirmed from Clermont County's own CHIP program announcement; current Community Development page confirms CHIP is an active ongoing program (FY2025 cycle). County does not publish a standalone DPA brochure; exact current-cycle figures and income tables should be confirmed at (513) 731-7125. income_limit_amount and first_time_homebuyer left blank because not specified for the DPA activity.

The program excludes

  • Purchases above the $132,000 price cap
  • Households above 80% of area median income

These are the program's own published rules, not a decision about any individual — the administering agency and a lender determine who actually qualifies.

What are the income limits?

Clermont County CHIP Down Payment Assistance (DPA) limits household income to 80% of the area median income, which varies by county and household size.

  • Low-to-moderate income households not exceeding 80% of area median income (HUD limits, adjusted by household size).
  • The limit applies to total household income, not only the borrower’s.
  • Area median income figures are published by HUD and updated annually, so check the current table for the county before relying on a number.

What kind of home can it be used for?

Clermont County CHIP Down Payment Assistance (DPA) caps the purchase price at $132,000.

  • Eligible property types include Single Family.

Where does it apply?

Clermont County CHIP Down Payment Assistance (DPA) is a federal program, so it is not limited to Ohio.

  • The program targets specific areas: CHIP grant cycles may designate target areas for Home Repair/Private Owner Rehab; DPA itself is county-wide.

How do you apply?

Applications for Clermont County CHIP Down Payment Assistance (DPA) go through Clermont County Department of Community & Economic Development, which publishes the current terms and the application steps on its own site.

  1. Take a homebuyer education course

    Required by the program, through Homebuyer education class required prior to purchase (provider not specified).

  2. Contact Clermont County Department of Community & Economic Development to reserve funds

    Funds are reserved through Application-based during CHIP grant cycles; funding priority by household income, home priority rating, housing need, and availability of funds, and are subject to availability.

  3. Work with a lender who handles the program

    Hey Prescott is not a lender and does not accept applications; this page describes the program so a buyer can take it to a lender or housing counselor.

Learn this program

Short reads on how it works, in plain language. Free, no sign-up needed to read.

Free course from Hey Prescott

Clermont County CHIP Down Payment Assistance (DPA), explained

A short, free course on Clermont County CHIP Down Payment Assistance (DPA): what it is, who it is for, when it is repaid, where it applies and how to apply. Based on program data from July 2026. About ten minutes.

5 modules · About 10 minutes

90-second match

Not sure which you qualify for?

Answer 9 questions and we'll match you to every program you can actually use — in about 90 seconds. No SSN, no credit pull.

Find my programs