Down payment assistance income limits in Illinois
48 down payment assistance programs in Illinois publish an income limit, a purchase price cap, or both.
Every figure below is the limit the administering agency publishes. Limits are revised as area incomes and local prices move, so confirm current figures with the agency before relying on them.
Area median income by county
HUD's published four-person area median income for each Illinois county. A program that sets its limit at a percentage of area median income applies that percentage to the figure for the county where the home is, adjusted for household size.
| County | Published | 4-person median |
|---|---|---|
| Adams | 2026 | $91,100 |
| Alexander | 2026 | $90,200 |
| Bond | 2026 | $102,700 |
| Boone | 2026 | $89,400 |
| Brown | 2026 | $90,000 |
| Bureau | 2026 | $91,900 |
| Calhoun | 2026 | $113,500 |
| Carroll | 2026 | $82,900 |
| Cass | 2026 | $83,400 |
| Champaign | 2026 | $114,300 |
| Christian | 2026 | $90,600 |
| Clark | 2026 | $93,200 |
| Clay | 2026 | $77,900 |
| Clinton | 2026 | $113,500 |
| Coles | 2026 | $78,300 |
| Cook | 2026 | $121,500 |
| Crawford | 2026 | $99,000 |
| Cumberland | 2026 | $101,100 |
| De Witt | 2026 | $104,100 |
| Dekalb | 2026 | $112,500 |
| Douglas | 2026 | $97,900 |
| Dupage | 2026 | $121,500 |
| Edgar | 2026 | $80,300 |
| Edwards | 2026 | $78,500 |
| Effingham | 2026 | $104,900 |
| Fayette | 2026 | $82,500 |
| Ford | 2026 | $92,500 |
| Franklin | 2026 | $75,100 |
| Fulton | 2026 | $84,900 |
| Gallatin | 2026 | $79,500 |
| Greene | 2026 | $85,700 |
| Grundy | 2026 | $116,100 |
| Hamilton | 2026 | $92,100 |
| Hancock | 2026 | $90,300 |
| Hardin | 2026 | $72,700 |
| Henderson | 2026 | $84,900 |
| Henry | 2026 | $97,500 |
| Iroquois | 2026 | $91,100 |
| Jackson | 2026 | $85,200 |
| Jasper | 2026 | $98,800 |
| Jefferson | 2026 | $83,300 |
| Jersey | 2026 | $113,500 |
| Jo Daviess | 2026 | $99,600 |
| Johnson | 2026 | $83,800 |
| Kane | 2026 | $121,500 |
| Kankakee | 2026 | $102,200 |
| Kendall | 2026 | $135,800 |
| Knox | 2026 | $86,900 |
| La Salle | 2026 | $105,200 |
| Lake | 2026 | $121,500 |
| Lawrence | 2026 | $81,400 |
| Lee | 2026 | $93,100 |
| Livingston | 2026 | $96,500 |
| Logan | 2026 | $93,000 |
| Macon | 2026 | $95,100 |
| Macoupin | 2026 | $96,200 |
| Madison | 2026 | $113,500 |
| Marion | 2026 | $81,500 |
| Marshall | 2026 | $106,100 |
| Mason | 2026 | $84,100 |
| Massac | 2026 | $84,400 |
| Mcdonough | 2026 | $84,900 |
| Mchenry | 2026 | $121,500 |
| Mclean | 2026 | $117,000 |
| Menard | 2026 | $114,900 |
| Mercer | 2026 | $97,500 |
| Monroe | 2026 | $113,500 |
| Montgomery | 2026 | $93,600 |
| Morgan | 2026 | $91,500 |
| Moultrie | 2026 | $99,400 |
| Ogle | 2026 | $101,200 |
| Peoria | 2026 | $106,100 |
| Perry | 2026 | $82,900 |
| Piatt | 2026 | $114,300 |
| Pike | 2026 | $85,700 |
| Pope | 2026 | $83,300 |
| Pulaski | 2026 | $65,900 |
| Putnam | 2026 | $93,300 |
| Randolph | 2026 | $93,900 |
| Richland | 2026 | $84,400 |
| Rock Island | 2026 | $97,500 |
| Saint Clair | 2026 | $113,500 |
| Saline | 2026 | $75,000 |
| Sangamon | 2026 | $114,900 |
| Schuyler | 2026 | $87,800 |
| Scott | 2026 | $96,500 |
| Shelby | 2026 | $91,400 |
| Stark | 2026 | $106,100 |
| Stephenson | 2026 | $86,300 |
| Tazewell | 2026 | $106,100 |
| Union | 2026 | $89,500 |
| Vermilion | 2026 | $82,900 |
| Wabash | 2026 | $88,100 |
| Warren | 2026 | $88,100 |
| Washington | 2026 | $99,400 |
| Wayne | 2026 | $78,700 |
| White | 2026 | $77,300 |
| Whiteside | 2026 | $90,900 |
| Will | 2026 | $121,500 |
| Williamson | 2026 | $95,000 |
| Winnebago | 2026 | $89,400 |
| Woodford | 2026 | $106,100 |
Published limits by program
| Program | Income limit | Price cap |
|---|---|---|
| Building Neighborhoods and Affordable Homes ProgramChicago · Cook | 140% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 140% of Chicago-Naperville-Elgin MSA AMI per HUD/Chicago annual chart. Seed range $109,900-$207,200 reflects 80%-140% AMI by household size. | — |
| Chicago Home Buyer AssistanceChicago · Cook | 80% of area median income | $350,000 |
| Choose Aurora Homebuyer Assistance Forgivable Loan ProgramAurora · Kane|DuPage|Will|Kendall | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 80% HUD AMI for the Chicago-Naperville-Elgin HMFA. 2025 approximate range: $62,800 (1-person) to $118,450 (8-person). | $342,000 |
| City of Carbondale Down Payment Assistance ProgramCarbondale · Jackson | 180% of area median incomeHousehold cannot earn more than 180% of HUD Median Area Income (MAI) for Jackson County. 2023 180% by size: 1 $101,340; 2 $115,740; 3 $130,140; 4 $144,540; 5 $156,240; 6 $167,760; 7 $179,280; 8 $190,800. (80% 4-person = $64,240.) Income tier also sets the required owner-match percentage. | — |
| City of Carbondale Single-Family Housing Conversion ProgramCarbondale · Jackson | See programIncome limit not specified in the program description on the official City page; contact the City to confirm. | — |
| City of Joliet Down Payment Assistance ProgramJoliet · Will | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income at/below 80% AMI for the Chicago-Naperville-Joliet HUD Metro FMR Area, adjusted by size. By-household-size dollar limits could not be confirmed (joliet.gov renders via JavaScript; income-limit PDF not retrievable). Contact Neighborhood Services for the current table. | — |
| Community Partners for Affordable Housing (CPAH) Lake County Down Payment Assistance ProgramLake County (all municipalities) · Lake | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income cannot exceed 80% of Chicago-Naperville-Joliet HUD Metro Area AMI, adjusted for household size. 2024 4-person 80% AMI = $89,700 (Chicago MSA). | $304,950 |
| Down Payment AssistanceLake | $116,500Household income at or below 80% of Lake County AMI (HOME-funded); seed range $61,800-$116,500 reflects 80% AMI by household size for Lake County HUD HOME limits. | $304,950 |
| Downpayment Assistance ProgramWill | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 80% HUD AMI for the Chicago-Naperville-Elgin HMFA (Will County portion). 2025 approximate range: $62,800 (1-person) to $118,450 (8-person). | — |
| DuPage Housing Authority / HOPE Fair Housing Center Inclusive Communities Fund DPADuPage County · DuPage | See programNo stated income limit in program documents; eligibility tied to active DHA Housing Choice Voucher participation | — |
| East St. Louis Lansdowne Park Home Buyer Assistance ProgramEast St. Louis · St. Clair County | See programIncome eligibility requirements not specified in published announcement; contact Remy Dean, Grant Coordinator for full eligibility details | — |
| FHLBank Chicago Downpayment Plus (DPP) ProgramStatewide · Statewide | 80% of area median income | — |
| FHLBank Chicago Downpayment Plus Advantage (DPP Advantage) ProgramStatewide · Statewide | 80% of area median income | — |
| First Time Homebuyer ProgramCollinsville · Madison | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income within program income tiers (approximately 30%-80% HUD AMI for the St. Louis HMFA, Madison County portion). 2025 approximate range: $21,700 (1-person, 30% AMI) to $109,000 (8-person, 80% AMI). | — |
| GROWTH Moline NSP Program Income Downpayment ProgramMoline · Rock Island County | 80% of area median incomeIncome at or below 80% AMI for the Rock Island-Moline MSA per 2024 HUD income limits | — |
| Habitat for Humanity Chicago Affordable Homeownership ProgramChicago · Cook | 80% of area median income | — |
| Habitat for Humanity Greater Peoria Area Homeownership ProgramPeoria · Peoria | 80% of area median income | — |
| Habitat for Humanity of Champaign County Homeownership ProgramChampaign · Champaign | 60% of area median income | — |
| Habitat for Humanity of Danville Homeownership ProgramDanville · Vermilion | 80% of area median income | — |
| Habitat for Humanity of Knox County Homeownership ProgramGalesburg · Knox | 60% of area median income | — |
| Habitat for Humanity of McLean County Homeownership ProgramBloomington; Normal · McLean | 80% of area median income | — |
| HOME Buyer Down Payment Assistance ProgramDecatur · Macon | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 80 percent of HUD area median income, by household size. FY2025-2026 limits: 1 $51,350; 2 $58,650; 3 $66,000; 4 $73,300; 5 $79,200; 6 $85,050; 7 $90,900; 8 $96,800. Income includes all adults 18-plus who will live in the home. | $120,000 |
| Homebuyer AssistanceRomeoville · Will | $156,940Monarch Assist income limits (Romeoville). Non-targeted areas: $112,100 (1-2 persons), $128,915 (3+ persons). Targeted areas: $134,520 (1-2 persons), $156,940 (3+ persons). | $624,481 |
| Homebuyer Assistance ProgramSt. Clair | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income expected at or below 80% HUD AMI for the St. Louis, MO-IL HMFA (St. Clair County portion); contact county directly for current 2026 income table. | — |
| Homebuyer Assistance ProgramRockford · Winnebago | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below roughly 80 percent of area median income, by household size. Per the Sept 2022 brochure: 1 $45,100; 2 $51,550; 3 $58,000; 4 $64,400; 5 $69,600; 6 $74,750; 7 $79,900; 8 $85,050. Limits subject to change by HUD. | $131,000 |
| Homebuyer Assistance ProgramNormal · McLean | 80% of area median incomeHousehold adjusted gross income at or below 80% HUD AMI for the Bloomington, IL HMFA. 2025 approximate range: $61,250 (1-person) to $115,500 (8-person). | — |
| Homebuyer Down Payment/Closing Cost Assistance ProgramMoline · Rock Island | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 80% HUD AMI for the Davenport-Moline-Rock Island, IA-IL MSA. 2025 approximate range: $50,150 (1-person) to $94,550 (8-person). | — |
| HOMEbuyer ProgramMadison | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 80% HUD AMI for the St. Louis, MO-IL HMFA (Madison County portion). 2025 approximate range: $47,550 (1-person) to $89,650 (8-person). | $329,000 |
| Homeownership ProgramAlton · Madison | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 80% HUD AMI for the Alton/St. Louis HUD income area. 2025 limits: $62,400 (1-person), $71,300 (2), $80,200 (3), $89,100 (4), $96,250 (5), $103,400 (6), $110,500 (7), $117,650 (8). | $281,250 |
| IHDA Access Deferred | 80% of area median income | $424,100 |
| IHDA Access Forgivable | 80% of area median income | $424,100 |
| IHDAccess DeferredStatewide · Statewide | $158,880Household income limits set county-by-county by IHDA, top tier approx. $132,120-$158,880 across counties and household sizes; check ihdamortgage.org/limits for the exact county chart. | $951,665 |
| IHDAccess ForgivableStatewide · Statewide | $158,880Household income limits set county-by-county by IHDA, top tier approx. $132,120-$158,880; check ihdamortgage.org/limits for the exact county chart. | $951,665 |
| IHDAccess RepayableStatewide · Statewide | $158,880Household income limits set county-by-county by IHDA, top tier approx. $132,120-$158,880; check ihdamortgage.org/limits for the exact county chart. | $951,665 |
| Kane County First-Time Homebuyer Deferred Loan Program (Kane-Elgin HOME Consortium)Elgin · Kane | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income (HUD-projected gross, adjusted for household size) must not exceed federal limits. Effective 6/15/23: 1 $61,800; 2 $70,600; 3 $79,450; 4 $88,250; 5 $95,350; 6 $102,400; 7 $109,450; 8-plus $116,050. Front-end housing ratio 25-32 percent; back-end ratio not exceeding 50 percent. | $287,000 |
| Lake-McHenry Habitat for Humanity Homeownership ProgramNorth Chicago · Lake | 80% of area median income | — |
| Lewis & Clark Habitat for Humanity Homeownership ProgramAlton; Collinsville; Edwardsville; Glen Carbon; O'Fallon; Wood River; Bond County communities · Madison; Bond | 80% of area median income | — |
| Live-Work Rock Island Employer Assisted Homebuyer ProgramRock Island · Rock Island County | 120% of area median incomeHousehold income up to 120% of Area Median Income for the Rock Island-Moline MSA | — |
| NHS Chicago / NLS Down Payment Assistance GrantChicago · Cook County | See programGrant eligibility assessed by NLS loan originator based on borrower profile; income limits vary by funding source | — |
| Purchase Assistance ProgramChicago · Cook | 120% of area median incomeHousehold income up to 120% of Chicago-Naperville-Elgin MSA AMI; seed range $67,150-$213,000 spans across NHS sub-programs and household sizes. | — |
| Reclaim Peoria Southside Homeownership ProgramPeoria · Peoria | 80% of area median income | $70,000 |
| Rock Island County I-HOPE Down Payment AssistanceRock Island County | See programLow- to moderate-income families in Rock Island County; specific limits not published; contact GMAHA for current parameters | — |
| South Suburban Housing Center Hazel Crest Down Payment Assistance ProgramHazel Crest · Cook | 120% of area median incomeTiered by AMI using 2024 Chicago-Naperville-Joliet HUD Metro Area limits. 4-person: <60% AMI = $67,260; <80% AMI = $89,700; <120% AMI = $134,520 | — |
| Springfield Home Ownership Program (SHOP)Springfield · Sangamon County | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income cannot exceed 80% of HUD Area Median Income. As of June 1, 2025: 1-person $67,000; 2-person $76,500; 3-person $86,050; 4-person $95,550; 5-person $103,250; 6-person $110,900; 7-person $118,550; 8-person $126,300. | — |
| The Neighbor Project Closing the Gap Homeownership GrantAurora · Kane | 80% of area median income | — |
| Urbana HOME Consortium Homebuyer Assistance ProgramUrbana · Champaign County | 80% of area median incomeHouseholds must be at or below 80% of Area Median Income (AMI) per HUD guidelines for the Champaign-Urbana MSA. Specific dollar amounts set annually by HUD. | — |
| West Cook Advantage Program (WCA)Oak Park · Cook | 120% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 120% of Chicago-Naperville-Elgin MSA AMI; seed range $42,600-$120,480 reflects 50%-120% AMI by household size. | — |
| Will-Grundy Habitat for Humanity Homeownership ProgramJoliet and surrounding Will/Grundy County communities · Will; Grundy | 80% of area median income | — |
Questions, answered
What are the income limits for down payment assistance in Illinois?
48 down payment assistance programs in Illinois publish an income limit, a purchase price cap, or both. 38 express the limit as a percentage of the area median income for the county where the home is, and 22 publish a flat dollar figure instead.
Why does the same program have different income limits in different counties?
Because most limits are set as a percentage of area median income, which HUD publishes per county and revises annually. A program with one published percentage therefore admits a different dollar figure in each county, and the figure is further adjusted for household size.
Is a published limit the same as being approved?
No. An income limit is one eligibility rule among several — credit requirements, purchase price caps, occupancy rules and homebuyer education all apply separately, and the first-mortgage lender underwrites on its own terms. Always confirm current figures with the administering agency.
Is Hey Prescott a lender?
No. Hey Prescott is an educational directory of down payment assistance programs. We list programs and link to official sources; we do not make loans or give individualized lending advice.
90-second match
Not sure which you qualify for?
Answer 9 questions and we'll match you to every program you can actually use — in about 90 seconds. No SSN, no credit pull.
Find my programs