Down payment assistance income limits in Arizona
45 down payment assistance programs in Arizona publish an income limit, a purchase price cap, or both.
Every figure below is the limit the administering agency publishes. Limits are revised as area incomes and local prices move, so confirm current figures with the agency before relying on them.
Area median income by county
HUD's published four-person area median income for each Arizona county. A program that sets its limit at a percentage of area median income applies that percentage to the figure for the county where the home is, adjusted for household size.
| County | Published | 4-person median |
|---|---|---|
| Apache | 2026 | $54,600 |
| Cochise | 2026 | $78,500 |
| Coconino | 2026 | $106,000 |
| Gila | 2026 | $78,900 |
| Graham | 2026 | $84,100 |
| Greenlee | 2026 | $83,500 |
| La Paz | 2026 | $63,200 |
| Maricopa | 2026 | $112,400 |
| Mohave | 2026 | $79,900 |
| Navajo | 2026 | $63,000 |
| Pima | 2026 | $99,800 |
| Pinal | 2026 | $112,400 |
| Santa Cruz | 2026 | $64,400 |
| Yavapai | 2026 | $92,200 |
| Yuma | 2026 | $79,300 |
Published limits by program
| Program | Income limit | Price cap |
|---|---|---|
| A.R.C. Homebuyer Readiness Down Payment AssistanceTucson · Pima | See programIncome limits not published on official site; must be confirmed with A.R.C. counselors. | — |
| Arizona Home Plus | 115% of area median income | $500,000 |
| Arizona IDA Statewide Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC) Program | See programIncome limits apply and vary by county; limits could be lower than the selected DPA program income limits (specific statewide table not published on the program page). | — |
| Arizona is Home Mortgage Assistance ProgramStatewide · Statewide (excludes Maricopa, Pima, and Chino Valley) | 100% of area median incomeAnnual household income at or below 100% AMI (temporary increase from 80% AMI; effective Oct 1, 2024). 2026 county limits (1-2 person household): Apache $55,300; Cochise $71,200; Coconino $101,900; Gila $76,100; Graham $81,100; Greenlee $88,400; La Paz $66,700; Mohave $73,800; Navajo $67,200; Pinal $109,600; Santa Cruz $66,100; Yavapai $87,300; Yuma $76,200. Maricopa and Pima counties not eligible (use HOME+PLUS instead). | $481,176 |
| Avondale First-Time Homebuyer ProgramAvondale · Maricopa | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 80% Area Median Income (HUD HOME limits) for Maricopa County, adjusted for household size. Example reference: $63,200 maximum for a family of four. | — |
| Chandler First-Time Homebuyers Program (Community Land Trust)Chandler · Maricopa | 80% of area median incomeGross household income < 80% AMI by family size. FY2025 Maricopa County (eff. June 1, 2025): 1=$62,850; 2=$71,800; 3=$80,800; 4=$89,750; 5=$96,950; 6=$104,150; 7=$111,300; 8=$118,500. | — |
| City of Flagstaff Employer Assisted Housing Program (EAH)Flagstaff · Coconino | 125% of area median incomeNo firm income limit stated for EAH (2019-era flyer references a 125% AMI table); eligibility is primarily City employment-based | — |
| City of Mesa Homeownership Assistance Program (HOA)Mesa · Maricopa | 80% of area median incomeAnnual gross household income at or below 80% of AMI for the Phoenix-Mesa-Scottsdale, AZ HUD Metro FMR Area | — |
| City of Phoenix Section 32 Public Housing Homeownership ProgramPhoenix · Maricopa | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income <= 80% AMI by household size; at least 75% of monthly income must be earned income. | — |
| City of Tempe Community Assisted Mortgage Program (CAMP)Tempe · Maricopa | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income <= 80% AMI for Maricopa County; specific dollar figures not published on city page - contact Housing Services for current HUD table. | — |
| City of Tucson – Pima County HOME Consortium Down Payment Assistance ProgramTucson · Pima | 80% of area median income2025 HUD AMI limits at 80% for family size: 1-$55,900; 2-$63,900; 3-$71,900; 4-$79,850; 5-$86,250; 6-$92,650; 7-$99,050; 8-$105,450 | $345,000 |
| City of Tucson Down Payment Assistance ProgramTucson · Pima | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income must be at or below 80% HUD Area Median Income (AMI) for Tucson. Current limits per official program page: 1-person $55,900; 2-person $63,900; 3-person $71,900; 4-person $79,850; 5-person $86,250; 6-person $92,650; 7-person $99,050; 8-person $105,450. | $345,000 |
| Comite de Bien Estar - Bienestar Housing Resource Center Down Payment & Closing Cost AssistanceSan Luis · Yuma | See programServes very-low- and low-income families (Mutual Self-Help follows USDA Rural Development income limits); specific table not published on the website. | — |
| Community Homebuyer Assistance Program (CHAP)Flagstaff · Coconino | 150% of area median incomeOption 1 (Home Purchase Assistance): household gross income at or below 150% of Coconino County AMI per City's annual AMI table. Option 2 (Permanent Affordability Pilot): at or below 125% AMI. The program's source-data income range of $92,000-$141,875 corresponds to typical 80%-150% AMI brackets at varying household sizes for Coconino County (FY2025 HUD AMI 4-person 100% = ~$94,500; 150% 4-person = ~$141,750). | — |
| Cottonwood Employer Assisted Housing ProgramCottonwood · Yavapai | 120% of area median incomeLow-to-moderate income workforce; aligned with CHP at approximately 80%-120% AMI for Yavapai County (4-person household figures up to ~$134,550 per the program income table). Final eligibility confirmed at counseling. | — |
| Cottonwood Homeownership Program (CHP)Cottonwood · Yavapai | 120% of area median incomeHousehold income $87,150 - $134,550 per the CHP brochure income table; roughly aligned with 80%-120% AMI for Yavapai County, scaled by household size. | — |
| CPLC Open Doors Down Payment Assistance ProgramPhoenix · Maricopa | 80% of area median incomeTotal household earnings at or below 80% of Area Median Income (AMI) | — |
| FHLBank San Francisco Middle-Income Downpayment Assistance (MDPA) Program — Arizona | 140% of area median incomeHousehold income between 80.01% and 140% of HUD AMI based on property address, adjusted for household size. Buyers at/below 80% AMI denied FHA financing may qualify under a special exception. | — |
| Habitat for Humanity Central Arizona Homeownership ProgramPhoenix · Maricopa | 78% of area median incomeGross annual household income may not exceed 78% of Maricopa and Pinal County AMI; varies by family size | — |
| Habitat for Humanity of Northern Arizona Starter Home Homeownership ProgramFlagstaff · Coconino | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income between 50% and 80% of Flagstaff Area Median Income; income limits change annually per HUD | $100,000 |
| Habitat for Humanity of Yuma Homeownership ProgramYuma · Yuma | 60% of area median incomeHousehold income ~30-60% of Yuma County AMI; per-household-size table not published online - contact affiliate. | — |
| Habitat for Humanity Tucson Affordable Homeownership ProgramTucson · Pima | $77,844Income-eligible per chart: 1 person $54,522; 2 persons $62,322; 3 persons $70,122; 4 persons $77,844; 5 persons $84,084; 6 persons $90,324; 7 persons $96,564; 8 persons $102,804 | — |
| Home in Five AdvantagePhoenix · Maricopa | $153,440Maximum credit-qualifying income cannot exceed $153,440 for all borrowers. For the 7-year forgivable second option, income may not exceed 120 percent of AMI (currently $131,520). | — |
| Home Purchase Assistance Option (HPAO)Coconino | See programNo published household income limit; eligibility is occupation- and plan-participation based (commissioned Coconino County law enforcement and detention officers). | — |
| HOME+PLUS Home Buyer Down Payment Assistance ProgramStatewide · Statewide | $155,386Borrower(s) annual income (qualifying income used for first mortgage approval) not to exceed $155,386 statewide, effective April 6, 2026 (increased for 2026). Same income cap applies in all 15 Arizona counties (Apache, Cochise, Coconino, Gila, Graham, Greenlee, La Paz, Maricopa, Mohave, Navajo, Pima, Pinal, Santa Cruz, Yavapai, Yuma). | — |
| Hopi Credit Association Home Construction LoanKeams Canyon · Navajo | See programVerifiable income required (employment, self-employment, retirement); minimum 2 years income history | — |
| Maricopa County HOMEMaricopa | 80% of area median income | $400,000 |
| Navajo Housing Authority Homeownership Down Payment Assistance ProgramNavajo Nation (AZ/NM/UT) | See programMust qualify as low-income per NAHASDA definition (generally ≤80% of area median income for the applicable service area) | — |
| Newtown CDC Individual Development Account (IDA) Down Payment AssistanceMaricopa | 78% of area median incomeGross household income below 78% of HUD AMI; same limits as WISH for Maricopa County (Phoenix-Mesa-Scottsdale MSA); 4-person $87,516 (June 2025) | — |
| Newtown Community Land Trust (CLT) ProgramTempe · Maricopa | 80% of area median incomeMost CLT homes sold only to households at or below 80 percent of HUD Area Median Income (adjusted by family size); some resales up to 120 percent AMI. June 2025 (Phoenix-Mesa-Scottsdale MSA / Maricopa County) 80 percent AMI: 1 person $62,850; 2 $71,800; 3 $80,800; 4 $89,750; 5 $96,950; 6 $104,150; 7 $111,300; 8 $118,500. | — |
| Pascua Yaqui Tribe Home Ownership Assistance ProgramTucson · Pima | See programProgram is NOT income-based | — |
| Pima IDA Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC) ProgramTucson · Pima | 115% of area median incomeIncome limits (115% of area median, Pima County) - Non-Targeted: 1-2 persons $101,100, 3+ persons $116,265. Targeted Areas: 1-2 persons $121,320, 3+ persons $141,540. | $544,232 |
| Pima Tucson Homebuyer's Solution (PTHS)Tucson · Pima | $146,503Maximum qualifying income of $146,503 (per CIC and Housing Innovation Hub, 2026); applies for all household sizes. Limits vary by loan type. | — |
| PimaTucson LIGHTHOUSE Down Payment Assistance ProgramTucson · Pima | $116,265Non-Target Area: 1-2 persons $101,100; 3+ persons $116,265. Target Area: 1-2 persons $121,320; 3+ persons $141,540 | $665,173 |
| Pinal County HOME Homeownership / Down Payment Assistance ProgramPinal | 80% of area median incomeGross annual household income at or below 80% of Area Median Income (AMI). Uses Phoenix-Mesa-Scottsdale MSA HUD income limits, the 24 CFR Part 5 Annual Income definition, and the HUD CPD Income Eligibility Calculator. | — |
| Section 184 Indian Home Loan Guarantee Program - Arizona | See programNo federal income limit on the Section 184 loan itself (down payment assistance, if layered from a tribe or HFA, may carry its own limits). | — |
| Section 8 Home Ownership ProgramYuma · Yuma | 50% of area median incomeFamily must already be an admitted Housing Choice Voucher participant (initial admission requires income at or below 50% AMI; up to 80% AMI for current participants). Minimum income: local Yuma minimum wage x 30 hours x 52 weeks (welfare income excluded except for elderly/disabled). | — |
| Sedona Employer Assisted Housing ProgramSedona · Yavapai | 150% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 150% of Area Median Income for the Sedona/Yavapai region; example 4-person max approximately $161,850 (per LendSquawk seed/PDF data). | — |
| Sedona Workforce Homeownership Assistance ProgramSedona · Yavapai | 150% of area median incomeHousehold income $105,000 - $161,850 (program PDF income table); roughly equivalent to 150% AMI for Yavapai/Sedona area, scaled by household size. | — |
| SRFSI IDA Matched Savings Homeownership ProgramScottsdale · Maricopa | See programNot specified; serves low-to-moderate income tribal members | — |
| TOKA Down Payment Assistance ProgramSells · Pima | See programNot stated in published guidelines | — |
| USDA Single Family Housing Direct Home Loans (Section 502 Direct) - Arizona | 80% of area median incomeAdjusted household income must be at or below the applicable low-income (or very-low-income) limit for the county; limits vary by Arizona county per the USDA Direct Loan income limit map. Very-low-income borrowers may qualify for a 38-year term. | — |
| USDA Single Family Housing Guaranteed Loan Program (Section 502 Guaranteed) - Arizona | 115% of area median incomeHousehold income cannot exceed 115% of the area median household income; limits vary by Arizona county and household size (verify on the USDA income-eligibility site). | — |
| Western Arizona Community Alliance (WACA) Individual Development Account (IDA)Yuma · Yuma | See programHousehold income must be at or below 200% of the Federal Poverty Level; household net worth must be under $10,000 (excluding one car and one home). | — |
| Workforce Initiative Subsidy for Homeownership (WISH)Multiple | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 80% of HUD Area Median Income (AMI) for the buyer's county of purchase, adjusted for household size, as of WISH enrollment. Coconino County FY2025 80% AMI 4-person is approximately $84,150; Mohave / Yavapai limits are lower. The seed PDF income range $35,880-$84,162 spans the 30%-80% AMI brackets across HSNA's service area. | — |
Questions, answered
What are the income limits for down payment assistance in Arizona?
45 down payment assistance programs in Arizona publish an income limit, a purchase price cap, or both. 29 express the limit as a percentage of the area median income for the county where the home is, and 19 publish a flat dollar figure instead.
Why does the same program have different income limits in different counties?
Because most limits are set as a percentage of area median income, which HUD publishes per county and revises annually. A program with one published percentage therefore admits a different dollar figure in each county, and the figure is further adjusted for household size.
Is a published limit the same as being approved?
No. An income limit is one eligibility rule among several — credit requirements, purchase price caps, occupancy rules and homebuyer education all apply separately, and the first-mortgage lender underwrites on its own terms. Always confirm current figures with the administering agency.
Is Hey Prescott a lender?
No. Hey Prescott is an educational directory of down payment assistance programs. We list programs and link to official sources; we do not make loans or give individualized lending advice.
90-second match
Not sure which you qualify for?
Answer 9 questions and we'll match you to every program you can actually use — in about 90 seconds. No SSN, no credit pull.
Find my programs