Down payment assistance income limits in Michigan
63 down payment assistance programs in Michigan publish an income limit, a purchase price cap, or both.
Every figure below is the limit the administering agency publishes. Limits are revised as area incomes and local prices move, so confirm current figures with the agency before relying on them.
Area median income by county
HUD's published four-person area median income for each Michigan county. A program that sets its limit at a percentage of area median income applies that percentage to the figure for the county where the home is, adjusted for household size.
| County | Published | 4-person median |
|---|---|---|
| Alcona | 2026 | $77,100 |
| Alger | 2026 | $77,500 |
| Allegan | 2026 | $99,600 |
| Alpena | 2026 | $72,600 |
| Antrim | 2026 | $92,900 |
| Arenac | 2026 | $76,800 |
| Baraga | 2026 | $70,700 |
| Barry | 2026 | $101,000 |
| Bay | 2026 | $89,900 |
| Benzie | 2026 | $95,500 |
| Berrien | 2026 | $92,200 |
| Branch | 2026 | $81,800 |
| Calhoun | 2026 | $80,700 |
| Cass | 2026 | $89,800 |
| Charlevoix | 2026 | $97,400 |
| Cheboygan | 2026 | $79,500 |
| Chippewa | 2026 | $86,300 |
| Clare | 2026 | $65,100 |
| Clinton | 2026 | $102,600 |
| Crawford | 2026 | $76,400 |
| Delta | 2026 | $82,800 |
| Dickinson | 2026 | $83,400 |
| Eaton | 2026 | $102,600 |
| Emmet | 2026 | $101,700 |
| Genesee | 2026 | $82,100 |
| Gladwin | 2026 | $77,900 |
| Gogebic | 2026 | $70,500 |
| Grand Traverse | 2026 | $113,900 |
| Gratiot | 2026 | $80,100 |
| Hillsdale | 2026 | $81,300 |
| Houghton | 2026 | $89,400 |
| Huron | 2026 | $81,900 |
| Ingham | 2026 | $102,600 |
| Ionia | 2026 | $98,700 |
| Iosco | 2026 | $69,800 |
| Iron | 2026 | $75,300 |
| Isabella | 2026 | $79,000 |
| Jackson | 2026 | $101,200 |
| Kalamazoo | 2026 | $108,100 |
| Kalkaska | 2026 | $86,600 |
| Kent | 2026 | $106,600 |
| Keweenaw | 2026 | $80,900 |
| Lake | 2026 | $62,600 |
| Lapeer | 2026 | $104,800 |
| Leelanau | 2026 | $122,100 |
| Lenawee | 2026 | $87,000 |
| Livingston | 2026 | $129,000 |
| Luce | 2026 | $68,700 |
| Mackinac | 2026 | $84,300 |
| Macomb | 2026 | $104,800 |
| Manistee | 2026 | $85,500 |
| Marquette | 2026 | $99,900 |
| Mason | 2026 | $89,000 |
| Mecosta | 2026 | $81,700 |
| Menominee | 2026 | $83,100 |
| Midland | 2026 | $107,200 |
| Missaukee | 2026 | $83,100 |
| Monroe | 2026 | $95,200 |
| Montcalm | 2026 | $80,600 |
| Montmorency | 2026 | $69,900 |
| Muskegon | 2026 | $77,500 |
| Newaygo | 2026 | $79,300 |
| Oakland | 2026 | $104,800 |
| Oceana | 2026 | $78,100 |
| Ogemaw | 2026 | $71,500 |
| Ontonagon | 2026 | $75,200 |
| Osceola | 2026 | $74,200 |
| Oscoda | 2026 | $66,200 |
| Otsego | 2026 | $90,600 |
| Ottawa | 2026 | $113,700 |
| Presque Isle | 2026 | $82,100 |
| Roscommon | 2026 | $73,300 |
| Saginaw | 2026 | $83,200 |
| Saint Clair | 2026 | $104,800 |
| Saint Joseph | 2026 | $85,900 |
| Sanilac | 2026 | $77,800 |
| Schoolcraft | 2026 | $75,800 |
| Shiawassee | 2026 | $87,600 |
| Tuscola | 2026 | $83,000 |
| Van Buren | 2026 | $94,400 |
| Washtenaw | 2026 | $142,300 |
| Wayne | 2026 | $104,800 |
| Wexford | 2026 | $82,200 |
Published limits by program
| Program | Income limit | Price cap |
|---|---|---|
| Battle Creek Area Habitat for Humanity Homeownership ProgramBattle Creek · Calhoun | 80% of area median incomeTotal household income within 30%-80% of HUD AMI for the City of Battle Creek and Calhoun County, by household size | — |
| Bay County Habitat for Humanity Homeownership ProgramBay City · Bay | See programTwo income tracks: standard Habitat low-income guidelines and a Missing Middle track for Asset Limited Income Constrained Employed (ALICE) families. Specific dollar limits on pre-screen application form - not published as static text. | — |
| Bay Mills Indian Community Down Payment Assistance ProgramBrimley · Chippewa | 80% of area median incomeMust meet HUD income guidelines (Bay Mills low-income programs generally use 80% of median income; 4-person dollar limit not stated in the DPA brochure). | — |
| BCPS Housing Incentive Program (Down Payment Assistance)Battle Creek · Calhoun | See programNo income limit. Eligibility is employment-based (must be a full-time BCPS teacher or administrator); program is funded by a private foundation grant rather than HUD/HOME income-restricted funds. | — |
| City of East Lansing Down Payment Assistance ProgramEast Lansing · Ingham | 80% of area median incomeHUD CDBG/HOME low- to moderate-income limits (generally <=80% AMI) for the Lansing-East Lansing MSA. Since 2020 the gap between the income ceiling and rising local home prices has prevented new awards. | — |
| City of Flint Down Payment Assistance ProgramFlint · Genesee | 80% of area median incomeHUD HOME (Flint, MI MSA / Genesee County) FY2025 Low Income (80% AMI) limits, effective June 1, 2025: 1-person $46,500; 2-person $53,150; 3-person $59,800; 4-person $66,400; 5-person $71,750; 6-person $77,050; 7-person $82,350; 8-person $87,650. | — |
| City of Grand Rapids Homebuyer Assistance Fund (HAF)Grand Rapids · Kent | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 80% of Area Median Income (per published CDD income limits by household size). | — |
| City of Holland Homebuyer Assistance (Down Payment/Closing Cost Assistance)Holland · Ottawa | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 80% of Area Median Income (AMI); CDBG income limit applies to all City of Holland CDBG housing programs. | — |
| City of Jackson 100 Homes ProgramJackson · Jackson | 120% of area median incomeCombined household income may not exceed 120% of Area Median Income (HUD), adjusted for household size. 2024 120% AMI: 1p $70,800; 2p $80,950; 3p $91,050; 4p $101,150; 5p $109,250; 6p $117,350; 7p $125,450; 8p $133,550. | — |
| City of Lincoln Park Down Payment Assistance for First-Time HomebuyersLincoln Park · Wayne | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income must be at or below 80% AMI. 2026 income limits by household size: 1 person $58,700; 2 person $67,100; 3 person $75,500; 4 person $83,850; 5 person $90,600; 6 person $97,300; 7 person $104,000; 8 person $110,700. | $219,000 |
| City of Livonia Down Payment Assistance for First-Time HomebuyersLivonia · Wayne | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income must be at or below 80% AMI. 2026 income limits by household size: 1 person $58,700; 2 person $67,100; 3 person $75,500; 4 person $83,850; 5 person $90,600; 6 person $97,300; 7 person $104,000; 8 person $110,700. | $219,000 |
| City of Midland First-Time Homebuyers Purchase Assistance ProgramMidland · Midland | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 80% of Area Median Income for Midland County, adjusted by household size (HUD/CDBG limits, updated annually). Full dollar table by household size not confirmed on official source. | — |
| City of Muskegon Homebuyer's Assistance ProgramMuskegon · Muskegon | 80% of area median incomeTotal household income must be at or below 80% of Area Median Income per current HUD income limits. Published household limits: 1p $40,050; 2p $45,800; 3p $51,500; 4p $57,200; 5p $61,800; 6p $66,400; 7p $70,950. | $169,000 |
| City of Pontiac Down Payment Assistance ProgramPontiac · Oakland | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 80% of Area Median Income by household size (HUD); 2026 4-person limit $83,850 | — |
| City of Taylor Home Down Payment Assistance (DPA) ProgramTaylor · Wayne | 80% of area median incomeIncome eligibility based on HUD limits for the Detroit-Warren-Dearborn MSA (typically 80% AMI for HOME-funded down payment assistance). unconfirmed: exact income_limit thresholds. | — |
| City of Warren Direct Homebuyer Assistance Program (HOME)Warren · Macomb | 80% of area median incomeAnnual gross household income at or below 80% of area median income, adjusted for household size, as determined by HUD (income-limit schedule updated annually; published PDF reflects April 2018 HUD limits) | — |
| City of Westland Homebuyer ProgramWestland · Wayne | 80% of area median incomeAnnual gross income cannot exceed 80% of Detroit area median income as determined by HUD income limits; income tested at the time the household initially occupies the property or when HOME funds are invested, whichever is later. | — |
| Community Action Agency (Jackson, Lenawee & Hillsdale) Individual Development Account (IDA) ProgramJackson · Jackson, Lenawee, Hillsdale | See programHousehold income generally at or below 200% of the federal poverty guidelines (typical Michigan IDA threshold); set by program | — |
| Detroit Down Payment Assistance ProgramDetroit · Wayne | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 80% of HUD Area Median Income, adjusted for household size (e.g., 1-person $58,700; 4-person $83,850 per one published table on the program page). | — |
| FHLBank Indianapolis HomeBoost Down Payment Assistance | 120% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 120% of Area Median Income for Indiana or Michigan. | — |
| FHLBank Indianapolis Launch Down Payment Assistance (HOP) | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 80% of HUD area median income, adjusted for family size, based on the subject property's location at enrollment (HUD limits, AHP Implementation Plan Attachment D). | — |
| Genesee County Down Payment Assistance ProgramGenesee | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 80% of area median income, adjusted for household size (HUD-released 6/01/26 limits for Flint/Genesee County; FY2026 MFI $82,100): 1 person $46,850; 2 $53,550; 3 $60,250; 4 $66,900; 5 $72,300; 6 $77,650; 7 $83,000; 8 $88,350. | — |
| Genesee County Habitat for Humanity Homeownership ProgramFlint · Genesee | See programServes applicants who do not qualify for conventional financing but can repay an affordable mortgage; specific income guidelines not published online - contact Homeowner Services. | — |
| Grand Traverse Band NAHASDA Down Payment Assistance ProgramPeshawbestown · Grand Traverse, Antrim, Benzie, Charlevoix, Leelanau, Manistee | 80% of area median incomeLow-Income Family: income not exceeding 80% of area median income (NAHASDA), adjusted for family size; all income counted including per-capita distributions. Leelanau County median used as baseline. | — |
| Grand Traverse Band RAO Down Payment Assistance ProgramPeshawbestown · Grand Traverse, Antrim, Benzie, Charlevoix, Leelanau, Manistee | See programProof of all household income required; income eligibility required. Specific percent/threshold not stated for the RAO program on the primary source. | — |
| Greater Jackson Habitat for Humanity Homeownership ProgramJackson · Jackson | $61,350Household income must fall between published minimum and maximum by family size (4-person min $46,020 / max $61,350; 1-person min $32,220/max $42,950 up to 8-person min $60,780/max $81,000). Applicants must not currently own a home. | — |
| Habitat for Humanity Capital Region Homeownership ProgramLansing · Ingham | $82,080Annual pre-tax household income must fall within the published range for household size (updated annually): 1: $28,728-$57,456; 2: $32,832-$65,664; 3: $36,936-$73,872; 4: $41,040-$82,080; 5: $44,323-$88,646; 6: $47,606-$95,213; 7: $50,890-$101,779; 8: $54,173-$108,346. | — |
| Habitat for Humanity Detroit Homeownership ProgramDetroit · Wayne | 80% of area median incomeMaximum income is 80% of Wayne County AMI. 1-person: $58,700; 2: $67,100; 3: $75,500; 4: $83,850; 5: $90,600; 6: $97,300; 7: $104,000; 8: $110,700. | — |
| Habitat for Humanity Grand Traverse Region Homeownership ProgramTraverse City · Grand Traverse | 120% of area median incomeIncome considered up to 120% of area median income (less income does not make a candidate more eligible). Illustrative qualifying examples (Leelanau County): adult couple up to $84,000/yr; two adults + two children up to $105,000/yr. Full dollar table by household size not published. | — |
| Habitat for Humanity of Huron Valley Home Ownership ProgramAnn Arbor · Washtenaw | 80% of area median incomeQualifying household income 30%-80% of Washtenaw County AMI (HUD-based), with annual min/max thresholds by family size | — |
| Habitat for Humanity of Kent County Homeownership ProgramGrand Rapids · Kent | $112,600Max annual household income by size (May 2026 chart): 1=$59,750; 2=$68,250; 3=$76,800; 4=$85,300; 5=$92,150; 6=$95,950; 7=$105,800; 8=$112,600. Minimum annual household income of $45,000 also required. | — |
| Habitat for Humanity of Lenawee County Homeownership ProgramAdrian · Lenawee | See programMust demonstrate need for adequate housing and ability to make an affordable mortgage payment; specific income limits not published online - contact affiliate. | — |
| Habitat for Humanity of Oakland County Homeownership ProgramPontiac · Oakland | 120% of area median incomeHousehold income between 30% AMI (min) and 120% AMI (max) for Oakland County. Some bundled DPA funds cap at 60% AMI. | — |
| Harbor Habitat for Humanity Homeownership ProgramBenton Harbor · Berrien | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income must fall between 30% and 80% of Area Median Income for Berrien County (based on HUD data, updated annually). Monthly mortgage payment starts at 22% of income including taxes and insurance. | — |
| ICCF Community Homes Individual Development Account (IDA) ProgramGrand Rapids · Kent | 100% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 100% of Kent County AMI. Effective May 2026-April 2027 by household size: 1=$74,700; 2=$85,300; 3=$96,000; 4=$106,600; 5=$115,200; 6=$123,700; 7=$132,200; 8=$140,800 (+$8,600 each add'l). Also requires minimum annual income of $35,000 (unless using a Housing Choice Voucher) and consistent income for the past 6 months. | — |
| ICCF Community Homes Land Trust (CHLT)Grand Rapids · Kent | See programIncome guidelines apply; specific AMI % and dollar amounts in the CHLT Homebuyer and Homeowner Guide. | — |
| Ingham County Down Payment Assistance ProgramIngham | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income less than 80% of Area Median Income (e.g., up to $56,480/year for a single individual in Ingham County). | — |
| Kalamazoo County Homebuyer Assistance ProgramKalamazoo · Kalamazoo | 120% of area median incomeQualifying household income at or below 120% of Kalamazoo County Area Median Income (AMI), based on household size. 120% AMI effective 04/01/2025: 1-person $80,520; 2-person $92,040; 3-person $103,560; 4-person $114,960; 5-person $124,200. | — |
| Kalamazoo Valley Habitat for Humanity Homeownership ProgramKalamazoo · Kalamazoo | See programHousehold income must meet Habitat program requirements (income bands published annually based on HUD figures). The published 1-person band for the affiliate's income table shows $19,260-$38,520; full multi-size table not legible on the live page. | — |
| KNHS Down Payment AssistanceKalamazoo · Kalamazoo | 80% of area median incomeDown payment assistance program generally serves households at or below 80% of area median income; eligibility determined by household income limits and funder/underwriting requirements. (KNHS also operates programs serving up to 120% AMI.) | — |
| Lakeshore Habitat for Humanity Homeownership ProgramHolland · Ottawa | See programFamilies must have and maintain annual gross income within Lakeshore Habitat's published income guidelines (income range table posted as an image on the official page; specific dollar figures by household size not machine-readable). Income-based program (low-to-moderate income). | — |
| Little River Band of Ottawa Indians - Homeownership Initiative 100 (HI-100) Down Payment and Closing Cost AssistanceManistee · Manistee | See programNo income limit stated in the HI-100 application/guidelines. | — |
| LiveYpsi Homebuyer Assistance ProgramYpsilanti · Washtenaw | See programNo income limit published; eligibility is based on being a regular EMU or EMU Foundation employee with an appointment of 50% or more, not on household income. | — |
| Macomb County Habitat for Humanity Home Buyer ProgramShelby Township · Macomb | See programMust have legal, verifiable income of at least $42,420 for a one-person household (minimum increases with household size); maximum income limits published in the affiliate's income-limit chart. Specific maximum dollar limits by household size not machine-readable from the page. | — |
| Marquette County Habitat for Humanity New Home Construction Homeownership ProgramMarquette · Marquette | 80% of area median incomeTotal household income from all sources roughly 30-80% of Marquette County median (MSHDA income limits). By household size: 1-person $18,330-$48,880; 2 $20,940-$55,840; 3 $23,550-$62,800; 4 $26,160-$69,760; 5 $28,260-$75,360; 6 $30,360-$80,960. | — |
| MI 10K DPA | 80% of area median income | $544,233 |
| MSHDA Down Payment Assistance | 80% of area median income | $544,233 |
| MSHDA MI Home LoanStatewide | See programHousehold income limits apply and vary by family size and property location (county/township). In non-targeted areas, ranges roughly $75,300 (1-2 persons) up to higher limits in high-cost counties; targeted areas have higher limits. See MSHDA Income & Sales Price Limits. | $566,355 |
| MSHDA Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC)Statewide | See programHousehold income limits vary by county and by targeted vs. non-targeted area, with separate limits for 1-2 person and 3-or-more person households (effective 6.1.2026). The borrower must meet the lower of state and federal income limits, and all overtime income must be included. Non-targeted area examples (1-2 / 3+ persons): most counties $98,400 / $113,160; Kent (non-targeted) $106,600 / $122,590; Ottawa (non-targeted) $113,700 / $130,755; Livingston (non-targeted) $129,000 / $148,350. Targeted area examples (1-2 / 3+): baseline $118,080 / $137,760; Kalamazoo $129,720 / $151,340; Washtenaw $170,760 / $199,220. See the MSHDA Income & Sales Price Limits table (6.1.2026) for the full county-by-county breakdown. | $566,355 |
| Newberry Affordable Homeownership Program (Down Payment Assistance)Detroit · Wayne | See programTargeted to low- and moderate-income families; the 60 Newberry homes were originally LIHTC affordable rental housing; current renters get priority. Specific thresholds not published. | $69,000 |
| NMCAA Down Payment Assistance Program (DPA)Traverse City · Antrim; Benzie; Charlevoix; Emmet; Grand Traverse; Kalkaska; Leelanau; Missaukee; Roscommon; Wexford | 100% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 100% of Area Median Family Income (AMFI) by county: Antrim $82,100; Benzie $92,900; Charlevoix $88,000; Emmet $87,100; Grand Traverse $89,900; Kalkaska $68,600; Leelanau $98,800; Missaukee $70,300; Roscommon $64,800; Wexford $73,000. AMFI year not stated. | — |
| Northern Homes CDC Community Land Trust ProgramBoyne City · Charlevoix | See programOpen to low- and moderate-income homebuyers (income-qualified). Specific income limits by household size not published on the program page. | — |
| Northwest Michigan Habitat for Humanity Home Ready ProgramPetoskey · Emmet | See programHousehold income must fall below published income caps for Emmet or Charlevoix County (caps vary slightly by county; published on program page). | — |
| Nottawaseppi Huron Band of the Potawatomi (NHBP) Down Payment Assistance Program (DPAP)Fulton · Calhoun | See programMust meet NAHASDA income guidelines; all household income documented (specific dollar limits set by NAHASDA, not stated in ordinance). | $175,000 |
| Oakland County Treasurer's Independent Bank Home Buyer Assistance ProgramOakland | 120% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 120% of Oakland County Area Median Income (AMI); $123,240 for 2025 | — |
| Pokagon Band Down Payment Assistance ProgramDowagiac · Berrien, Cass, Van Buren, Allegan | See programMust fall within HUD income-limit guidelines (program page cites guidelines updated 10/14/2025). | — |
| Port Huron Urban Pioneer+ Down Payment Assistance ProgramPort Huron · St. Clair | See programMust meet HUD income limits (low-to-moderate income) for St. Clair County / Port Huron HOME program. unconfirmed: exact income_limit_amount. | $218,000 |
| Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe Section 184 Indian Home Loan ProgramMount Pleasant · Isabella | See programNo published program income cap on the tribal page; standard HUD Section 184 underwriting applies (HUD income references) | — |
| Saginaw-Shiawassee Habitat for Humanity Homeownership ProgramSaginaw · Saginaw | 80% of area median incomeQualifying income minimums and maximums are 30%-80% of AMI for Saginaw and Shiawassee County, by family size (updated annually). Min/Max annual income: 1: $14,681.25/$39,150; 2: $16,781.25/$44,750; 3: $18,881.25/$50,350; 4: $20,962.50/$55,900; 5: $22,650/$60,400; 6: $24,318.75/$64,850; 7: $26,006.25/$69,350; 8: $27,675/$73,800. | — |
| Sault Tribe Housing Authority Down Payment Assistance ProgramKincheloe · Chippewa, Luce, Mackinac, Alger, Delta, Schoolcraft, Marquette | See programIncome-based; applicant must be within program income limits and earn at least $25,000/year | — |
| Sault Tribe Housing Authority Individual Development Account (IDA) ProgramKincheloe · Chippewa, Luce, Mackinac | See programIncome-based; annual household income within eligible range; minimum annual income of $25,000 required (some materials cite $15,000) | — |
| Washtenaw County / City of Ann Arbor Down Payment Assistance ProgramAnn Arbor · Washtenaw | 80% of area median incomeHousehold income at or below 80% of the Washtenaw County Area Median Income (AMI), adjusted for household size, as published annually by HUD | — |
| Wayne County First-Time Home Buyers ProgramWayne | 80% of area median incomeTotal household income must be at or below 80% of Area Median Income per HUD limits for household size (Detroit-Warren-Dearborn MSA). All household income counted. | — |
Questions, answered
What are the income limits for down payment assistance in Michigan?
63 down payment assistance programs in Michigan publish an income limit, a purchase price cap, or both. 37 express the limit as a percentage of the area median income for the county where the home is, and 20 publish a flat dollar figure instead.
Why does the same program have different income limits in different counties?
Because most limits are set as a percentage of area median income, which HUD publishes per county and revises annually. A program with one published percentage therefore admits a different dollar figure in each county, and the figure is further adjusted for household size.
Is a published limit the same as being approved?
No. An income limit is one eligibility rule among several — credit requirements, purchase price caps, occupancy rules and homebuyer education all apply separately, and the first-mortgage lender underwrites on its own terms. Always confirm current figures with the administering agency.
Is Hey Prescott a lender?
No. Hey Prescott is an educational directory of down payment assistance programs. We list programs and link to official sources; we do not make loans or give individualized lending advice.
90-second match
Not sure which you qualify for?
Answer 9 questions and we'll match you to every program you can actually use — in about 90 seconds. No SSN, no credit pull.
Find my programs